pregnancy

When Pregnancy Decides To Throw You A Bone

Pregnancy isn’t all bad! I’ve learned during my pregnancy that mother nature isn’t a total bitch and, every now and then, she’ll do ya a solid. Of course most of these things are specific to myself but here are a few things that I would consider pregnancy perks.

1. No periods!

Let’s be real, periods are a giant pain in the ass. I’ll admit, mine was probably more on the mild side, but I’m still very grateful that I don’t have to see it or deal with it for 9+ months.

2. Unusual hair growth (or lack there of)

Since becoming pregnant I’ve noticed a dramatic decline in hair growth, to the point where my leg hair is almost non-existent. I can easily go weeks without shaving and that, my friends, is a glorious thing. To top it off, the hair on my head is healthier than ever. Pre-pregnancy, I would have handfuls of loose hair after showering but not anymore! I’m soaking it all up while I can because I’ve heard that postpartum hair can be a real bitch.

3. Perfect skin!

Ok so maybe it’s not perfect but it’s pretty damn good as far as I’m concerned. I’ve struggled with acne since puberty and I can’t even begin to describe how elated I am that I can wake up and not have a fresh, new pimple on my face. It’s the little things in life!

4. Stabilized moods

Not gonna lie, this one took me by surprise. I still have the occasional mood swing (although surprisingly not often) that one would equate with pregnancy, but I’ve definitely noticed a big change in my temper and ability to remain level-headed. Pre-pregnancy I had quite the temper and when my husband pissed me off, I was quick to get angry and slow to bring myself back down. I don’t get bothered as much anymore and I can let things go much more easily. This one’s a win-win for everyone!

5. My marriage is flourishing

Ok, this one is a little strange but just go with it. By no means was my marriage struggling before (a baby definitely wouldn’t have been on the table if that were the case) but it’s undeniable that my husband and I’s relationship is better than ever. Maybe I shouldn’t give all the credit to pregnancy but I definitely think it’s made an honorable contribution.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “When Pregnancy Decides To Throw You A Bone

  1. Wow! We are like, the exact opposite. Aside from the no periods thing, I have way more hair growth, horrible emotions, pimples galore and my hubs is complaining that our marriage is boring at the moment. Glad that it’s treating you well though. Funny how each person has a different experience.

    Like

  2. I’ll be the first to admit I’ve gotten pretty damn lucky so far. I am, however, fully prepared for things to head south at any moment. Pregnancy is fun like that. Thanks reading and commenting! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

